Independent review

Yu Sleep Ingredients and Doses

Yu Sleep lists 10 ingredients on its label, but only 3 of them, melatonin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B2, come with a stated amount; the other 7 share an undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend." The product is also spelled YuSleep in ad copy and on marketplace listings, so this page covers both YuSleep ingredients and Yu Sleep ingredients as the same list. The drops come in a 2 mL serving, and the three disclosed doses sit next to a blend that names seven more ingredients with no weight attached to any of them.

This page checks every one of Yu Sleep's ingredients, disclosed or not, against the sleep studies that exist for it, and explains what "not disclosed" does and does not rule out. For the price, refund terms and what buyers report, see our Yu Sleep review.

Yu Sleep ingredients, per serving (2 full droppers (2 mL), held in the mouth for 30 seconds, then swallowed, 30 minutes before bed)
IngredientDose per servingDose in studiesEvidence
Red tart cherry juice concentrate not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 30 mL concentrate twice daily (Howatson 2012) or 240 mL juice twice daily (Losso 2018); 500 mg powder capsules had no effect (Tucker 2024) Weak: small juice trials were positive (Losso 2018, 8 completers over 50, 240 mL twice daily: +84 min sleep), but 500 mg capsules (Tucker 2024, n=34) and a 30-day trial (Hillman 2022, n=44) found no effect.
Magnesium glycinate not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 250 mg elemental magnesium a day as bisglycinate (Schuster 2025); 320-729 mg elemental as oxide or citrate (Mah 2021) Weak: the one magnesium bisglycinate trial (Schuster 2025, n=155, 250 mg elemental Mg for 4 weeks) found a small effect on insomnia severity (d=0.2); reviews rate the evidence low.
Apigenin not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) no human sleep trial of apigenin; chamomile extract 270 mg twice daily (Zick 2011, no effect) or 200 mg twice daily (Adib-Hajbaghery 2017) None for apigenin itself: no human sleep trial exists; the one chamomile insomnia RCT (Zick 2011, n=34, 270 mg twice daily) found no benefit.
Lemon balm extract not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 400 mg a day (Di Pierro 2024); 600 mg a day (Cases 2011); 3 g a day (Haybar 2018) Weak: an open-label pilot without placebo (Cases 2011, n=20, 600 mg a day) and small placebo trials report better sleep scores; a lemon balm combination did no better than placebo (Gutierrez-Romero 2024, n=64).
5-HTP (Griffonia seed extract) not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 100 mg a day (Sutanto 2024); 50 mg a day (Meloni 2022, Parkinson's disease) Weak: adult trials are tiny (Sutanto 2024, 30 older adults, 100 mg a day, no placebo; Meloni 2022, 18 Parkinson's patients); NCCIH calls the insomnia data very limited.
L-theanine not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 200-450 mg a day, the range a 2026 review (Cotter) calls effective; 200 mg a day (Hidese 2019) Weak: a 2025 meta-analysis (Bulman, 18 pooled RCTs, 897 people) found small gains in self-rated sleep onset and quality, mostly with products that were not pure L-theanine.
GABA not disclosed (in 'Proprietary Blend' 637 mg) 100 mg (Yamatsu 2016); 300 mg a day (Byun 2018) Weak: a systematic review (Hepsomali 2020, cited by the vendor) found "very limited evidence for sleep benefits of oral GABA intake"; human trials used 100-300 mg.
Melatonin 0.9 mg 0.1-12 mg in trials; 0.3 mg restored sleep efficiency in insomniacs over 50 (Zhdanova 2001); benefit peaks at 4 mg a day (Cruz-Sanabria 2024) Moderate evidence of a small effect: a meta-analysis (Ferracioli-Oda 2013, 19 RCTs, 1,683 people) found sleep onset about 7 min faster and about 8 min more sleep; a 2022 review cited by NCCIH found no drop in time awake during the night.
Vitamin B6 (pyridoxal 5-phosphate) 0.5 mg (29% DV) 240 mg pyridoxine (Adventure-Heart 2018; dream recall only) None: the only sleep RCT (Adventure-Heart 2018, n=100) used 240 mg, 480 times this dose, and changed dream recall only.
Vitamin B2 (riboflavin 5-phosphate) 0.5 mg (38% DV) 100 mg B2 plus 100 mg B1 a day (Tao 2025) None at this dose: the only RCT (Tao 2025, n=43 students) gave 100 mg B2 plus 100 mg B1, 200 times this B2 dose, and its groups differed at baseline.

Data from: Supplement Facts image on the official sales page, Official sales page (getyusleep.com), Official VSL/order page, Amazon listing with full label render (B0FV34B71M), Vendor refund policy, Vendor shipping policy, ClickBank checkout (item 1), ClickBank refund request help, Vendor text sales letter (same headline as the VSL).

Melatonin: 0.9 mg

Melatonin is the only Yu Sleep ingredient with both a disclosed dose and a body of human sleep trials behind it, and its 0.9 mg sits inside the range a meta-analysis of 19 trials and 1,683 people used to find that melatonin helps people fall asleep about 7 minutes faster and sleep about 8 minutes longer (Ferracioli-Oda et al., 2013). The dose falls within the 0.1 to 12 mg range tested across those trials: above the 0.3 mg that restored sleep efficiency in insomniacs over 50 in a trial by Zhdanova and colleagues (2001, n=30), and below the 4 mg dose where the benefit peaks, per a 2024 review by Cruz-Sanabria and colleagues. Evidence strength here is moderate evidence of a small effect. A 2022 review cited by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), covering 12 studies and 2,666 people, found no improvement in time spent awake during the night, and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine's 2017 guideline suggests, weakly, against using melatonin for sleep-onset or sleep-maintenance insomnia at all. Trial-reported side effects stay uncommon: daytime sleepiness in 1.66% of users, headache and dizziness in 0.74% each, per a 2019 review of 37 randomized trials by Besag and colleagues. The full evidence and safety picture is on our melatonin in Yu Sleep page.

Vitamin B6: 0.5 mg

Yu Sleep's vitamin B6, listed as pyridoxal 5-phosphate, is dosed at 0.5 mg (29% of the Daily Value), and no sleep trial has tested anything close to that amount. The only human sleep RCT used 240 mg of pyridoxine, 480 times Yu Sleep's dose, in 100 adults over 5 days, and it changed dream recall only, not sleep itself (Adventure-Heart et al., 2018). Evidence strength for B6 at Yu Sleep's dose is none. Older Yu Sleep pages listed B12 instead of B6; the current label uses B6. See Vitamin B6 in Yu Sleep for the full dose and safety picture.

Vitamin B2: 0.5 mg

Vitamin B2, as riboflavin 5-phosphate, is dosed at 0.5 mg (38% DV), and the one trial that tested B2 for sleep used 200 times that amount. That RCT gave 100 mg of B2 plus 100 mg of B1, which Yu Sleep does not contain, to 43 university students over 4 weeks, and its treatment and control groups already differed at baseline before the trial began (Tao et al., 2025). Evidence strength at Yu Sleep's dose is none. See Vitamin B2 in Yu Sleep for the full dose and safety picture.

The 637 mg Proprietary Blend, Explained

Seven of Yu Sleep's ten ingredients, red tart cherry juice concentrate, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm extract, 5-HTP, L-theanine and GABA, share a 637 mg "Proprietary Blend" with no amount given for any of them. US labeling rules require blend ingredients to be listed in descending order of weight (21 CFR 101.36(c)(2)), so if the label lists the blend by weight, as US rules require, the first-listed ingredient could weigh up to the full 637 mg and each ingredient after it caps lower still. The table below gives each ingredient's maximum possible weight under that reading; every figure is conditional, never a measured amount.

The lowest studied daily doses of just 4 of the 7 blend ingredients, lemon balm at 400 mg, L-theanine at 50 mg, 5-HTP at 50 mg and GABA at 100 mg, already add up to 600 mg of the blend's 637 mg total, leaving only 37 mg for tart cherry, magnesium and apigenin combined. Not all 7 ingredients can be present at a studied dose at the same time. Magnesium glycinate, apigenin and lemon balm extract also appear a second time in Yu Sleep's "Other ingredients" list, a duplication the label does not explain.

Blend ceilings hold only if the label lists the blend by weight, as US rules require; the table compares each ceiling with the lowest daily dose used in a human sleep study.

Ingredient Ceiling if blend is listed by weight Lowest studied daily dose
Red tart cherry juice concentrate up to 637 mg 30 mL concentrate, twice daily
Magnesium glycinate up to 318 mg (about 45 mg elemental magnesium) 250 mg elemental magnesium
Apigenin up to 212 mg no human dose established
Lemon balm extract up to 159 mg 400 mg
5-HTP (Griffonia seed extract) up to 127 mg 50 mg
L-theanine up to 106 mg 50 mg
GABA up to 91 mg 100 mg

Red Tart Cherry Juice Concentrate

Red tart cherry juice concentrate is listed first in Yu Sleep's blend, meaning it could weigh up to the full 637 mg, but the sleep studies that found a benefit used 60 mL of concentrate or 480 mL of juice a day, 30 to 240 times the volume of Yu Sleep's entire 2 mL serving. Howatson and colleagues (2012, n=20 healthy adults) gave 30 mL of concentrate twice daily for 7 days and found more total sleep time. Losso and colleagues (2018) gave 8 completers over 50 with insomnia 240 mL of juice twice daily for 2 weeks and recorded 84 minutes more sleep. Two later trials found nothing: Tucker and colleagues (2024, n=34) using 500 mg cherry powder capsules for 14 days, and Hillman and colleagues (2022, n=44) over 30 days. Evidence strength counts as weak. The melatonin naturally present in cherry concentrate is tiny, about 85 micrograms a day at Howatson's dose, roughly a tenth of the 0.9 mg of synthetic melatonin Yu Sleep adds, so any cherry effect would not come mainly from cherry-derived melatonin. See tart cherry in Yu Sleep for the full comparison.

Magnesium Glycinate

Magnesium glycinate sits second in the blend, so it could weigh up to 318 mg if the label is ordered by weight, well short of the 250 mg of elemental magnesium the one relevant trial used. Schuster and colleagues (2025, n=155 adults with poor sleep) gave 250 mg of elemental magnesium as bisglycinate for 4 weeks and found a small effect on insomnia severity (d=0.2). Even the most generous reading of Yu Sleep's blend ceiling fits at most about 45 mg of elemental magnesium, well under that trial's dose. A broader 2026 review by Lopresti and colleagues, covering 12 randomized trials, concludes the evidence does not support oral magnesium as a routine insomnia treatment. Evidence strength here is weak. See magnesium glycinate in Yu Sleep for the full dose and safety picture.

Apigenin

No human sleep trial of apigenin itself exists; everything sold on apigenin for sleep comes from studies of chamomile extract, which contains it. The one placebo-controlled chamomile insomnia trial, by Zick and colleagues (2011, n=34, 270 mg twice daily), found no benefit over placebo. A later meta-analysis of chamomile trials by Kazemi and colleagues (2024, 10 studies, 772 people) found a modest improvement in sleep quality scores, but no gain in sleep duration or sleep efficiency. Evidence strength for apigenin itself is none. The label does not say where Yu Sleep's apigenin comes from, so whether chamomile-allergy warnings apply is not established. See apigenin in Yu Sleep for what is known.

Lemon Balm Extract

Lemon balm extract is Yu Sleep's fourth-listed blend ingredient, and the only placebo-controlled trial of a lemon balm combination found it worked no better than placebo. An open-label trial with no placebo group, by Cases and colleagues (2011, n=20 stressed adults, 600 mg a day for 15 days), reported 85% remission, but open-label results without a placebo arm carry less weight than a controlled trial. A combination of L-theanine, lemon balm, valerian and saffron tested by Gutierrez-Romero and colleagues (2024, n=64, 6 weeks) found no benefit over placebo and no change in cortisol. No lemon balm trial measured waking at 3 AM specifically. Evidence strength is weak. See lemon balm in Yu Sleep for the full safety picture.

5-HTP (Griffonia Seed Extract)

5-HTP, sourced from Griffonia seed extract, has what the NCCIH calls "very limited data" for insomnia, and the largest adult trial had no placebo group. Sutanto and colleagues (2024, n=30 adults around 66) gave 100 mg a day for 12 weeks, single-blind with no placebo, and found a better subjective sleep score only in poor sleepers. Meloni and colleagues (2022, n=18 people with Parkinson's disease) used 50 mg a day and found a non-significant reduction in night waking. Evidence strength is weak. Excess 5-HTP may cause serotonin syndrome with antidepressants or other serotonergic medicines; see Yu Sleep side effects for the full interaction list. See 5-HTP in Yu Sleep for the dose detail.

L-Theanine

L-theanine sits sixth in Yu Sleep's blend, capping it at about 106 mg if the label is ordered by weight, below the 200 to 450 mg a day range a 2026 review calls effective. Bulman and colleagues (2025, 18 pooled RCTs, 897 people) found small gains in self-rated sleep onset and quality, though most came from products that were not pure L-theanine. Cotter and colleagues (2026, 13 trials, 550 people, doses 50 to 900 mg a day) call 200 to 450 mg a day a safe and effective way to support healthy sleep. Evidence strength is weak. See L-theanine in Yu Sleep for the full comparison.

GABA

GABA is listed last in Yu Sleep's blend, capping it at about 91 mg if the label is ordered by weight, below the 100 to 300 mg doses used in the small human trials that exist. The review the vendor itself cites, Hepsomali and colleagues (2020, 14 studies), found "very limited evidence for sleep benefits of oral GABA intake" and no data showing oral GABA crosses into the human brain. The "20% faster" figure in GABA sales copy traces to a rodent study by Kim and colleagues (2019), not a human trial. Evidence strength is weak. See GABA in Yu Sleep for the full dose and safety picture.

What the Label Discloses vs What the Ad Claims

Yu Sleep's sales letter makes specific claims about several of its blend ingredients that go further than the label or the studies support. The table below sets each claim next to what we found when we checked it.

Ingredient What the ad claims What we found
Magnesium glycinate Cites "over a dozen studies" for improved sleep. One small trial exists (d=0.2); Yu Sleep's dose is undisclosed and likely far below it.
Apigenin "Multiple clinical studies show" reduced sleep latency. No human trial of apigenin itself exists.
Lemon balm "Reduces cortisol" so "you'll STOP waking up at 3 AM." No lemon balm trial measured cortisol or 3 AM waking; a combination trial found no cortisol change.
GABA Cites a journal for cutting time to fall asleep by 20%. The 20% figure traces to a rodent study, not the cited journal.
Melatonin Calls 0.9 mg "the precise amount" matching the body's "0.3 to 0.7 mg" nightly output. The body makes about 0.02 to 0.04 mg a night; 0.9 mg was never tested as a "precise" dose.
Nano-technology "99% absorption" from nano-technology. No absorption or particle-size data has been published.

All claims above are the sales letter's own words. The pattern repeats across the blend: specific numbers attributed to ingredient benefits trace to animal studies, do not exist in the literature we could find, or belong to a different dose than Yu Sleep's undisclosed amount. For the ad's broader promise, see the 30-second cherry trick; for the sourcing pattern behind the sales letter's claims, see is Yu Sleep legit.

Bottom Line on the Yu Sleep Formula

Of Yu Sleep's 10 ingredients, only melatonin carries both a disclosed dose and evidence that dose does anything, a small effect on falling asleep faster, not on staying asleep. Three of the ten ingredients disclose a dose; the other seven sit inside a 637 mg blend that cannot fit all seven at their studied doses at once. Across the blend, the sales letter's specific ingredient claims outrun what we could verify against the published studies. For the full picture on price, refunds and what buyers report after trying it, see our Yu Sleep review.

Frequently asked questions

What are the ingredients in Yu sleep?

Melatonin (0.9 mg), vitamin B6 (0.5 mg) and vitamin B2 (0.5 mg) are disclosed. The other 7, red tart cherry juice concentrate, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm extract, 5-HTP, L-theanine and GABA, share a 637 mg blend with no stated amount for any of them.

What is the healthiest sleep aid to take?

We can only speak to Yu Sleep's own ingredients: melatonin has the most human evidence and appears safe short-term, though long-term safety data are lacking, and 5-HTP should be avoided with antidepressants. For a category-wide answer, see a pharmacist or clinician.

What is the strongest natural sleeping pill?

Nothing in Yu Sleep is at an unusually high dose. Its only ingredient tested at the dose it contains is melatonin, 0.9 mg, a moderate, ordinary amount. The 7 blend ingredients have no disclosed amount, so their strength cannot be assessed.

Does Yu Sleep disclose how much of each ingredient it contains?

No. Only 3 of its 10 ingredients, melatonin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B2, have a stated dose. The other 7 sit inside an undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend."

Sources

  1. Supplement Facts image on the official sales page
  2. Vendor VSL/order page
  3. Vendor text sales letter
  4. Amazon listing with full label render (B0FV34B71M)
  5. 21 CFR 101.36, supplement facts labeling
  6. Ferracioli-Oda et al. 2013, melatonin meta-analysis
  7. Cruz-Sanabria et al. 2024, melatonin dose-response review
  8. Zhdanova et al. 2001, melatonin in older insomniacs
  9. NCCIH, sleep disorders and complementary health approaches
  10. AASM 2017 clinical practice guideline
  11. Besag et al. 2019, melatonin adverse effects review
  12. Howatson et al. 2012, tart cherry juice and sleep
  13. Losso et al. 2018, tart cherry juice pilot study
  14. Tucker et al. 2024, tart cherry capsules trial
  15. Hillman et al. 2022, tart cherry trial
  16. Schuster et al. 2025, magnesium bisglycinate trial
  17. Lopresti et al. 2026, magnesium and insomnia review
  18. Zick et al. 2011, chamomile insomnia trial
  19. Kazemi et al. 2024, chamomile meta-analysis
  20. Cases et al. 2011, lemon balm open-label trial
  21. Gutierrez-Romero et al. 2024, lemon balm combination trial
  22. Sutanto et al. 2024, 5-HTP trial
  23. Meloni et al. 2022, 5-HTP in Parkinson's disease
  24. Bulman et al. 2025, L-theanine meta-analysis
  25. Cotter et al. 2026, L-theanine review
  26. Hepsomali et al. 2020, GABA systematic review
  27. Kim et al. 2019, GABA rodent study
  28. Adventure-Heart et al. 2018, vitamin B6 sleep trial
  29. Tao et al. 2025, vitamin B2 sleep trial