Independent review

Apigenin in Yu Sleep

Yu Sleep's label lists apigenin as one of seven ingredients inside its 637 mg "Proprietary Blend," with no disclosed amount, and this page checks what the sales letter claims for it against the evidence that actually exists. Apigenin also appears a second time, unexplained, under "Other ingredients," one of seven of Yu Sleep's ten label ingredients with no stated amount at all. The vendor's sales letter calls apigenin "nature's gentle sedative," backed by "multiple clinical studies," a specific claim this page checks fact by fact. For the fuller picture on price, refunds and what buyers report, see our Yu Sleep reviews first; this page stays narrow, on apigenin alone.

Question What we found
Disclosed dose Not disclosed
Blend ceiling (conditional) Up to about 212 mg
Human sleep trials of apigenin itself None
Nearest human evidence Chamomile extract, mixed

What apigenin does for sleep

Yu Sleep's sales letter calls apigenin "nature's gentle sedative" and claims "Multiple clinical studies show that Apigenin helps reduce sleep latency … while promoting higher sleep efficiency," but a PubMed search for human trials of apigenin and sleep turns up none. That search, "apigenin AND (sleep OR insomnia)," returned 26 records, and the only sleep-specific findings for apigenin sit in a 2024 review of animal studies, not a human trial. Apigenin is a flavone found naturally in chamomile, parsley and celery, and the animal research links it to sedative effects through action on GABA-A receptors in rodent brains, a mechanism, not a demonstrated human outcome. That review's two authors work full time for Tally Health, a consumer health company that also paid the review's publication fee, a conflict worth naming given how closely the sales letter's language tracks it. Nothing in the sources we checked points to a single completed human trial testing apigenin by itself for sleep, at any dose. For the other nine ingredients in the formula and how each one's evidence compares, see Yu Sleep ingredients.

The evidence for apigenin

There is no human sleep evidence for apigenin by itself; the nearest evidence comes from chamomile extract, which naturally contains apigenin, and even that evidence is mixed. Zick and colleagues (2011) ran a placebo-controlled trial of 34 adults with primary insomnia, giving 270 mg of chamomile extract twice daily for 28 days, and found no significant difference from placebo on any sleep-diary measure. A later meta-analysis by Kazemi and colleagues (2024), pooling 10 chamomile trials and 772 people, found a 1.88-point improvement on the Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index, a modest score change, but no improvement in sleep duration, sleep efficiency or daytime functioning. The chamomile fact sheet from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), updated November 2024, states plainly that there is "very little information on chamomile's effect on insomnia" and that the one study it reviewed on insomnia "found no benefit."

Study Design, n Dose Result
Zick et al., 2011 Placebo-controlled RCT, n=34 (primary insomnia) 270 mg chamomile extract, twice daily, 28 days No significant difference vs placebo on any sleep-diary measure
Kazemi et al., 2024 Meta-analysis, 10 studies, 772 people Chamomile extract (mixed doses across trials) PSQI improved 1.88 points; no gain in sleep duration, sleep efficiency or daytime functioning
NCCIH chamomile fact sheet, updated Nov. 2024 Review of the existing evidence Not applicable "Very little information" on insomnia; the one study reviewed found no benefit
Kramer et al., 2024 Review, animal data only, author conflict of interest Not applicable (rodent studies) Positive sleep and longevity effects reported in rodents; no human trial

Three sources touch apigenin or its chamomile relative in humans, and only one, Zick's trial, is a placebo-controlled study that tested a stated dose; none of them establishes a sleep benefit for apigenin on its own, at any amount.

The dose in Yu Sleep vs the study doses

Apigenin's amount is not stated; if the label lists its seven-ingredient blend by weight, as US rules require, apigenin could hold at most about 212 mg, but no human trial has tested any dose of apigenin itself to check that ceiling against. US labeling rules require blend ingredients to be listed in descending order of weight (21 CFR 101.36(c)(2)), and apigenin sits third among the seven, behind red tart cherry juice concentrate and magnesium glycinate. Even that ceiling is conditional, never a measured amount, and it runs into two problems before it reaches a study dose to compare against.

  • Apigenin's disclosed dose: not stated; it sits inside the undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend."
  • Conditional blend-order ceiling: up to about 212 mg, only if the blend is listed by weight as the labeling rule requires.
  • Nearest study dose, from chamomile: 270 mg of chamomile extract twice daily (Zick 2011), a dose of chamomile extract, not of isolated apigenin, so it cannot be checked against Yu Sleep's undisclosed amount.
  • Arithmetic room: the lowest studied daily doses of four other blend ingredients, lemon balm (400 mg), L-theanine (50 mg), 5-HTP (50 mg) and GABA (100 mg), already total 600 mg of the blend's 637 mg, leaving little room for apigenin alongside tart cherry and magnesium glycinate.
  • Label duplication: apigenin also appears a second time under "Other ingredients," an unexplained repeat that breaks even the conditional ceiling above.

Safety and interactions

No published safety data exist for isolated apigenin at sleep doses, and Yu Sleep's label does not say where its apigenin comes from; if it is chamomile-derived, the usual chamomile cautions apply. Those cautions, per NCCIH, cover an allergy risk in people sensitive to the ragweed family, plants including ragweed, chrysanthemums, marigolds and daisies, and interactions with warfarin, drugs metabolized by the liver, birth-control pills and sedatives, with added caution in estrogen-sensitive conditions and in pregnancy. Beyond this list, we say no interaction is documented in the sources we checked, never that no interactions exist. Because the source is unconfirmed, we cannot say which of these specific cautions apply to the apigenin in Yu Sleep, only that they apply to chamomile-derived apigenin generally, so anyone with a ragweed-family allergy or one of these prescriptions should check with a pharmacist rather than assume the risk does not apply. For the full safety picture across all 10 of Yu Sleep's ingredients, including drug interactions and who should avoid it, see Yu Sleep side effects.

Apigenin alone vs apigenin inside Yu Sleep

A standalone chamomile extract states its dose, so a buyer can at least compare it with the 270 mg twice-daily amount tested in the one placebo-controlled trial that exists. Yu Sleep's apigenin sits inside an undisclosed blend with six other ingredients, at an amount and from a source no reader can check, and its duplicate appearance under "Other ingredients" adds a second unexplained gap that a standalone chamomile product does not have. A standalone extract also states what form it takes, whether it is a whole-herb extract or a preparation standardized to a set percentage of apigenin, information that lets a buyer line it up against Zick's trial dose. None of that detail exists for Yu Sleep: not the source, not the extraction method, and not the amount, so any comparison with the chamomile studies stays theoretical rather than a real dose-for-dose check. The comparison is not between two competing pieces of evidence; it is between a dose a buyer can weigh against the studies and a dose a buyer cannot.

Bottom line

There is no human evidence that apigenin itself helps sleep, and the nearest evidence, on chamomile extract, is mixed at best. That makes the sales letter's "multiple clinical studies" claim for apigenin unsupported: no human trial has tested apigenin on its own, at any dose, for sleep, and the studies that do exist tested a different substance, chamomile extract, at a stated dose Yu Sleep's label does not let a buyer compare against. Of the 14 readable buyer reports on Yu Sleep, 64% report no noticeable effect and 14% report improved sleep, a sample too small and too tangled with six other undisclosed-dose ingredients to credit or blame apigenin specifically. That question, what Yu Sleep as a whole does for buyers, is one our full Yu Sleep review takes on directly.

Frequently asked questions

How much apigenin is in Yu Sleep?

Not disclosed. It is one of seven ingredients inside the undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend," and also appears a second time, unexplained, under "Other ingredients."

Does apigenin help you sleep?

No human sleep trial of apigenin itself exists. Sedative effects have been shown only in animal studies, in a review whose authors work for a company that also paid for its publication.

Is Yu Sleep's "multiple clinical studies" claim about apigenin true?

No. A PubMed search for human trials of apigenin and sleep found none; we rate this claim unsupported.

Where does the apigenin in Yu Sleep come from, and could it cause an allergic reaction?

The label does not say. If it is chamomile-derived, people allergic to ragweed, chrysanthemums, marigolds or daisies should be cautious, along with people on warfarin, liver-metabolized drugs or birth-control pills.

Does chamomile, a source of apigenin, help you sleep?

The evidence is mixed. One placebo-controlled trial of 270 mg twice daily found no benefit (Zick 2011), while a later meta-analysis of 10 chamomile trials found better sleep-quality scores but no gain in sleep duration or efficiency (Kazemi 2024).

Sources

  1. Supplement Facts image on the official sales page
  2. 21 CFR 101.36, supplement facts labeling
  3. Vendor text sales letter (TSL)
  4. Kramer et al. 2024, apigenin review (animal data, author conflict of interest)
  5. Zick et al. 2011, chamomile insomnia trial
  6. Kazemi et al. 2024, chamomile meta-analysis
  7. NCCIH, Chamomile
  8. BBB profile for Yu Sleep (customer reviews and complaints)