Independent review

GABA in Yu Sleep

GABA is the last of seven ingredients listed inside Yu Sleep's 637 mg "Proprietary Blend," with no amount stated anywhere on the label, and it is our Yu Sleep review that goes through what the other nine ingredients are and what they cost. Red tart cherry juice concentrate, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm extract, 5-HTP and L-theanine come before it in the blend, and none of the seven blend amounts, GABA included, is disclosed. This page checks what GABA does for sleep, what the human studies used it at, and whether the vendor's "20% faster" claim, which is attached to GABA, has anything to do with people.

GABA in Yu Sleep What we found
Disclosed dose Not stated
Blend ceiling (if listed by weight) About 91 mg or less
Lowest human study dose 100 mg
Evidence strength Weak, very limited

What GABA does for sleep

GABA is the main calming (inhibitory) neurotransmitter in the brain, which is why it is marketed for a "racing mind" at bedtime, but a systematic review of 14 studies that the vendor itself cites found only "very limited evidence for sleep benefits of oral GABA intake" (Hepsomali 2020). Yu Sleep's own Amazon listing sells the formula partly as something to "Calm a Racing Mind," language from the marketplace listing rather than the vendor's own sales page. The open question behind that pitch is whether GABA taken by mouth, as a drop or a pill, actually reaches the brain to do the calming that the neurotransmitter does when the body makes it internally. Hepsomali and colleagues, whose 2020 review the vendor lists as its own reference #10, found no human data showing that orally taken GABA crosses the blood-brain barrier at all. That gap sits underneath every sleep claim made for oral GABA, Yu Sleep's included: a calming neurotransmitter that may never reach the part of the body where calming happens.

The evidence for GABA

ingredient-evidence.md rates GABA's evidence for sleep "weak, very limited," based on a 2020 review of 14 studies that found no human data on whether oral GABA even reaches the brain. The table below lists the four studies that matter most for Yu Sleep, including the one the vendor's own "20%" claim traces back to.

Study Design, n Dose Result
Hepsomali 2020 Systematic review, 14 studies 20-300 mg "Very limited evidence for sleep benefits of oral GABA intake"; no human blood-brain barrier data
Byun 2018 RCT, n=40 (30 GABA, 10 placebo) 300 mg/day, 4 weeks PSG sleep latency fell from 13.4 to 5.7 minutes, efficiency rose from 79.4% to 86.1% within the GABA group; adverse events in 4 of 40 (10%), none severe
Yamatsu 2016 Single-blind crossover, n=10 poor sleepers 100 mg, 1 week Shorter EEG-measured sleep latency, blood GABA peaked 30 minutes after dosing; deep sleep and how often people woke did not change
Kim 2019 Mice/rats, not people GABA + L-theanine 100/20 mg/kg Sleep latency cut 20.7% versus GABA alone, 14.9% versus theanine alone

Only one of those four, Byun's 40-person trial, used a placebo group and measured sleep with polysomnography, the lab-grade standard for recording sleep. Yamatsu's crossover trial found a shorter time to fall asleep on EEG but no change in deep sleep or in how often the 10 poor sleepers woke during the night, a result that speaks directly to whether does Yu Sleep stop 3 AM wakeups: the one GABA study that measured waking frequency found no change at all. Kim's study, the one behind the vendor's "20%" figure, was run in mice and rats, not people, which is a different species and a different route of interpretation entirely from the three human trials above it.

The dose in Yu Sleep vs the study doses

GABA's amount in Yu Sleep is not disclosed, and even the highest amount the label's own ingredient order allows is below every human study dose. If Yu Sleep's label lists the 637 mg blend in descending order of weight, as 21 CFR 101.36(c)(2) requires, GABA sits last of the seven blend ingredients, so it can hold at most about 91 mg. The two human GABA sleep studies used more than that ceiling allows:

  • Yu Sleep's GABA: not disclosed, capped at roughly 91 mg at most if the label complies with descending-weight order.
  • Yamatsu 2016 (shorter sleep latency): 100 mg a day.
  • Byun 2018 (shorter latency and higher efficiency, placebo-controlled): 300 mg a day.

Neither study dose fits under that 91 mg ceiling, so even the best case for the brand puts Yu Sleep's GABA below both human trials that found an effect. The vendor's own "20% faster" claim is not a human GABA dose at all: it comes from Kim's rodent study at 100 mg/kg body weight, a per-kilogram animal dose that does not translate into a milligram amount for a person. We found no journal record of a human GABA trial in the "Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine," where the vendor's text attributes the 20% figure, on PubMed. Never take a specific GABA milligram amount for Yu Sleep as confirmed, and never read "20%" without knowing it comes from rodents, not people.

Safety and interactions

GABA at the doses studied in people was generally well tolerated over short trials, but interaction data is thin and Yu Sleep's own GABA content is unverified. In the one placebo-controlled human trial, adverse events occurred in 4 of 40 people (10%) taking 300 mg a day for 4 weeks, described as not severe. No serious safety signal turned up in the studies reviewed here, but every human trial ran 4 weeks or less, so nothing speaks to longer use. Interaction data for GABA, along with L-theanine and lemon balm, is thin in the sources we checked: the MedlinePlus monographs that used to cover it are gone and NCCIH has no dedicated page, so the honest line is "no interaction documented in the sources we checked," not "no interactions." A few groups have reason to be more careful:

  • Anyone on a sedative, sleep medication or blood pressure medication, since GABA's interaction profile has not been mapped in the sources we checked.
  • Anyone who wants a confirmed dose before trying it, since Yu Sleep's actual GABA content has not been independently lab-tested.
  • Anyone pregnant, breastfeeding or considering it for a child, since none of the human trials studied those groups.

For the full safety picture across all ten Yu Sleep ingredients, see Yu Sleep's side effects page.

GABA alone vs GABA inside Yu Sleep

A standalone GABA supplement states its milligram dose on the label, so a buyer can match the 100 mg or 300 mg amounts used in the human studies; inside Yu Sleep, GABA's amount is not disclosed and is very likely below the doses used in the two human studies that exist. GABA sits with six other ingredients in Yu Sleep's undisclosed 637 mg blend, and only three of the product's ten ingredients, melatonin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B2, carry a stated amount on the label at all. That split matters for anyone trying to reason about GABA specifically: a standalone product lets a buyer see and choose the studied dose, something Yu Sleep's label does not allow. See Yu Sleep's ingredients page for the full ten-ingredient breakdown and the disclosed-versus-blend split.

Bottom line

On the human evidence that exists, GABA taken by mouth has only weak, preliminary support for sleep, and the "20% faster" figure the sales letter attaches to it comes from mice and rats, not people. That gap runs through every part of GABA's case in Yu Sleep: a 2020 review of 14 studies found only "very limited evidence," no human trial has shown that oral GABA reaches the brain, and the vendor's own reference for its headline number is a rodent study, not a human one. Buyer reports do not settle the question either: of the 14 readable buyer reports we analyzed, 64% report no noticeable effect and 14% report improved sleep, too small and too mixed a sample to credit or blame GABA specifically among ten ingredients. Whether an undisclosed, likely sub-study amount of GABA does anything for sleep inside a ten-ingredient blend is the kind of gap our full Yu Sleep review tracks across every ingredient in the formula.

Frequently asked questions

How much GABA is in Yu Sleep?

The label does not say. GABA is the last of seven ingredients in an undisclosed 637 mg blend; if the blend is listed by weight, as US rules require, GABA can hold at most about 91 mg.

Does GABA actually help you sleep?

The evidence is weak. A 2020 review of 14 studies that the vendor itself cites found only "very limited evidence for sleep benefits of oral GABA intake," and no human study has shown that GABA taken by mouth reaches the brain.

Is the "20% faster" GABA claim true?

Not for people. That figure comes from a study in mice and rats (100 mg/kg GABA plus 20 mg/kg theanine), which the vendor itself lists as a reference; we found no human GABA trial reporting that number.

Does GABA in Yu Sleep have side effects?

In the one placebo-controlled human trial (300 mg/day, 4 weeks), 4 of 40 people had adverse events described as not severe. Interaction data for GABA is thin in the sources we checked, so treat "no interactions" as unverified rather than confirmed.

Is a standalone GABA supplement better than Yu Sleep?

A standalone product states its milligram dose, so you can match it to the 100 mg or 300 mg amounts used in the human studies. Yu Sleep hides GABA's amount inside an undisclosed blend with six other ingredients. See our Yu Sleep ingredients page for the full breakdown.

Sources

  1. Hepsomali et al. 2020, effects of oral GABA administration on brain states and sleep, a systematic review
  2. Byun et al. 2018, randomised controlled trial of GABA and sleep quality
  3. Yamatsu et al. 2016, effect of oral GABA on sleep in poor sleepers
  4. Kim et al. 2019, combined effect of GABA and L-theanine on sleep in mice
  5. eCFR, 21 CFR 101.36, nutrition labeling of dietary supplements