Independent review
Melatonin in Yu Sleep
Yu Sleep's Supplement Facts panel lists 0.9 mg of melatonin per 2 mL serving, about 27 mg across a 30-serving bottle, and it is one of only three of the ten ingredients in the formula with a stated amount; it is our Yu Sleep review that goes through what the other nine ingredients are and do. The other seven sit inside an undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend," which makes melatonin the closest thing to a hard number on the label, and the one ingredient with a genuine body of sleep research behind it. This page checks that 0.9 mg dose against the trials that have actually tested melatonin, what the evidence says it can and cannot do, and what the safety data shows, drawing on the full Yu Sleep ingredients breakdown for the rest of the formula.
| Melatonin in Yu Sleep | What we found |
|---|---|
| Disclosed dose | 0.9 mg per 2 mL serving |
| Studied range | 0.1 mg to 12 mg |
| Dose where benefit peaks | 4 mg a day |
| Evidence strength | Moderate, small effect |
What melatonin does for sleep
Melatonin is the hormone that tells the body it is time to sleep, not a sedative that forces sleep the way a drug does. In a meta-analysis of 19 randomized trials and 1,683 people, Ferracioli-Oda and colleagues (2013) found that melatonin helped people fall asleep about 7 minutes faster on average and sleep about 8 minutes longer overall, an effect the researchers noted did not fade with continued use. That is what melatonin reliably changes: how quickly a person drifts off. What it does not reliably change is staying asleep once the night is underway. A 2022 review of 12 studies covering 2,666 participants, cited by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), found melatonin improved sleep-onset latency and daytime sleepiness but did not improve the time people spent awake during the night, the exact problem behind Yu Sleep's own "3 AM wakeups" hook; our look at whether Yu Sleep stops 3 AM wakeups goes through what that finding means for the product's central claim. The American Academy of Sleep Medicine's 2017 clinical guideline goes further, suggesting that clinicians not use melatonin to treat sleep-onset or sleep-maintenance insomnia at all, a recommendation the guideline itself rates WEAK, reflecting how thin the supporting evidence is.
The evidence for melatonin
Ingredient-evidence.md rates melatonin's evidence for sleep "moderate, small effect," the strongest rating of any of Yu Sleep's ten ingredients. That rating rests on five sources that between them cover thousands of participants and a wide span of doses, summarized below.
| Study | Design, n | Dose | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ferracioli-Oda et al. 2013 | Meta-analysis, 19 RCTs, 1,683 people | 0.15 to 12 mg | Sleep latency 7.06 minutes faster; total sleep time 8.25 minutes longer |
| Cruz-Sanabria et al. 2024 | Meta-analysis, 26 RCTs | 0.1 to 12 mg | Benefit rises with dose, peaking around 4 mg a day taken about 3 hours before bed |
| Zhdanova et al. 2001 | RCT, n=30, adults over 50 | 0.1, 0.3, 3.0 mg | 0.3 mg restored sleep efficiency (p<0.0001), acting mainly in the middle third of the night; 0.9 mg was not tested |
| NCCIH 2022 review | Review, 12 studies, 2,666 people | Various | Improved sleep onset and daytime sleepiness; no improvement in time awake during the night |
| AASM/Sateia 2017 | Clinical practice guideline | Not applicable | Suggests clinicians not use melatonin for sleep-onset or sleep-maintenance insomnia (WEAK) |
The pattern across these five sources is consistent: melatonin's clearest, most repeatable effect is getting people to sleep faster, measured in minutes rather than hours, and that effect shows up across doses far below and far above Yu Sleep's own. Its effect on staying asleep through the night is the weakest part of the record, which matters directly for a product whose entire hook is stopping 3 AM wakeups.
The dose in Yu Sleep vs the study doses
0.9 mg falls inside the range trials have tested, from 0.1 mg up to 12 mg, sitting above the 0.3 mg dose that restored sleep efficiency in older insomniacs (Zhdanova et al. 2001) and below the 4 mg dose where the benefit peaks in Cruz-Sanabria and colleagues' 2024 dose-response analysis. That places Yu Sleep's melatonin in a defensible middle ground rather than at either extreme. The vendor's own text sales letter claims the "cherry trick" has "nothing to do with melatonin supplements," a line that sits oddly next to the label's 0.9 mg of melatonin, the ingredient this page exists to check.
Yu Sleep's sales copy also claims the body naturally makes "0.3 to 0.7 mg" of melatonin a night, a figure the research contradicts. One study that measured nightly melatonin production in healthy adults found an average output of about 0.02 to 0.04 mg (18 to 39 micrograms) at 70 kg body weight, roughly 8 to 40 times lower than the vendor's stated figure. Against that real baseline, Yu Sleep's 0.9 mg synthetic dose runs far above what the body produces on its own, and it is about ten times the roughly 85 micrograms of melatonin a day that Losso and colleagues' 2018 discussion attributed to Howatson's tart cherry concentrate trial, the other source of melatonin in the formula.
Timing is a separate mismatch:
- Yu Sleep's own directions: 2 droppers, 30 minutes before bed.
- The dose-response research behind the 4 mg peak: melatonin taken about 3 hours before bedtime.
No study has tested Yu Sleep's own 30-minute timing, so that direction should not be read as validated by the research above.
Safety and interactions
Short-term melatonin use in the dose range Yu Sleep sits within is generally considered safe; its long-term safety is not established. Across 37 randomized trials at doses from 0.15 to 12 mg, Besag and colleagues (2019) found adverse events were few and mostly mild: daytime sleepiness in about 1.66% of participants, headache and dizziness in roughly 0.74% each, and hypothermia in 0.62%, with rare reports of nightmares, agitation or heart palpitations. The NCCIH summarizes the picture the same way: short-term use appears safe for most people, but long-term safety needs more research, and people taking blood thinners or with epilepsy should use it only under medical supervision; it has not been researched in pregnancy or breastfeeding.
Absorption is the one place Yu Sleep's drop format could matter. Swallowed melatonin has an oral bioavailability of only about 15% (range 9 to 33%), reaching peak blood levels around 50 minutes after dosing, while a 2016 review found that transmucosal administration, absorbing through the mouth rather than swallowing, produces higher plasma concentrations than swallowed dosing. That is the mechanism behind Yu Sleep's "hold it for 30 seconds" direction, though no study has tested Yu Sleep's own drops this way.
A few groups should be more cautious than most with melatonin at any dose:
- Anyone taking blood thinners or anticonvulsant medication, since the NCCIH flags both for medical supervision.
- Anyone pregnant or breastfeeding, since neither has been researched.
- Anyone who wants a lab-verified dose, since Yu Sleep's own 0.9 mg has never been independently tested.
Independent lab tests of other melatonin supplements have found actual content ranging from -83% to +478% of the labeled amount, and gummies specifically from 74% to 347%. Yu Sleep's own 0.9 mg has not been independently lab-tested, so the true amount in any given bottle, including this one, is unknown rather than verified. For the full safety picture across all ten ingredients and who should avoid Yu Sleep altogether, see our Yu Sleep side effects page.
Melatonin alone vs melatonin inside Yu Sleep
A plain melatonin supplement lets a buyer pick the dose and know exactly what else, if anything, is in the bottle; see our Yu Sleep vs melatonin comparison for the full side-by-side on price, form and guarantee. Yu Sleep fixes melatonin at 0.9 mg and bundles it with nine more ingredients, most of them at amounts the label does not state. Melatonin, vitamin B6 (0.5 mg) and vitamin B2 (0.5 mg) are the only three of Yu Sleep's ten ingredients with a stated dose; the other seven sit inside the 637 mg "Proprietary Blend" with each individual amount marked as not disclosed. That trade-off cuts both ways: a standalone melatonin product offers a known, adjustable dose but none of the other seven ingredients, whatever their merit, while Yu Sleep's liquid drop format is the one place its delivery method could matter over a standard tablet, since transmucosal dosing produces higher plasma levels than swallowed dosing, a mechanism that has never been tested for Yu Sleep specifically, only for melatonin in general.
Bottom line
On its own, 0.9 mg of melatonin is a reasonable, studied dose for falling asleep faster, sitting inside the range trials have tested and close to doses that have shown a benefit. It is not shown to stop the middle-of-the-night waking Yu Sleep is advertised against: the best available review found no drop in time awake during the night at doses like this one, and the AASM does not recommend melatonin for sleep-maintenance insomnia at all. Buyer reports do not settle the question either: of the 14 readable Yu Sleep buyer reports we analyzed, 64% describe no noticeable effect and 14% describe improved sleep, too small and too undifferentiated a sample to credit or blame melatonin specifically. Whether that 0.9 mg dose, inside a ten-ingredient blend, does enough to matter is the question our full Yu Sleep review answers for the product as a whole.
Frequently asked questions
How much melatonin is in Yu Sleep?
0.9 mg per 2 mL serving, about 27 mg across a 30-serving bottle. It is the only disclosed amount in Yu Sleep besides its two B vitamins.
Is 0.9 mg of melatonin enough to help you sleep?
It sits inside the range trials have tested and close to doses shown to help people fall asleep a few minutes faster. It has not been shown to reduce waking during the night.
Does the melatonin in Yu Sleep have any side effects?
In trials at similar and higher doses, the most common effects were mild daytime sleepiness, headache and dizziness. See our full Yu Sleep side effects page for interactions and who should avoid it.
Has Yu Sleep's actual melatonin content been lab-tested?
No independent lab test of this product exists. Tests of other melatonin supplements have found actual content anywhere from -83% to +478% of what the label states, so the true amount in any bottle, including this one, is not verified.
Is melatonin alone better than Yu Sleep?
It depends what you want. Melatonin alone lets you choose the dose and know exactly what you are taking. Yu Sleep fixes it at 0.9 mg and adds nine more ingredients at undisclosed amounts. See our Yu Sleep vs melatonin comparison for the full picture.
Sources
- Ferracioli-Oda et al. 2013, meta-analysis of melatonin for the treatment of primary sleep disorders
- Cruz-Sanabria et al. 2024, dose-response effects of melatonin on sleep
- Zhdanova et al. 2001, melatonin treatment for age-related insomnia
- NCCIH, sleep disorders and complementary health approaches
- Sateia et al. 2017 (AASM), clinical practice guideline for the pharmacologic treatment of chronic insomnia
- Harpsoe et al. 2015, clinical pharmacokinetics of melatonin
- Zetner et al. 2016, review of oral transmucosal melatonin administration
- Study of endogenous nightly melatonin production in healthy adults
- Besag et al. 2019, adverse events associated with melatonin
- NCCIH, melatonin: what you need to know
- Erland and Saxena 2017, melatonin content of over-the-counter supplements
- Cohen et al. 2023 (JAMA), quantity of melatonin and CBD in melatonin gummies
- Losso et al. 2018, pilot study of tart cherry juice for older adults with insomnia
- Better Business Bureau, Yu Sleep complaints profile