Independent review
Yu Sleep vs Melatonin
Yu Sleep is a liquid sleep supplement that already contains 0.9 mg of melatonin, so the real question buyers searching "Yu Sleep vs melatonin" are asking is not whether Yu Sleep has melatonin in it, but whether that 0.9 mg dose, bundled with nine other ingredients, is worth it over taking melatonin on its own. The 0.9 mg figure is one of only three of Yu Sleep's ten label ingredients with a stated amount, alongside 0.5 mg of vitamin B6 and 0.5 mg of vitamin B2. It is also worth noting that the vendor's own sales copy describes the product as having "nothing to do with melatonin supplements," a claim the label itself contradicts. For a fuller picture of how buyers rate the product overall, see what buyers say about Yu Sleep.
This page sets the two side by side on dose, form, price, guarantee and evidence, then breaks down what is actually different between them and who each one tends to fit. Neither option is named as the winner here; the facts are laid out so the trade-off is visible.
Yu Sleep vs Plain Melatonin at a Glance
The table below is the whole comparison in five rows, and one of those rows cannot be filled with a sourced number: this dossier has no price or guarantee on file for a generic melatonin product, only for Yu Sleep itself.
| Row | Yu Sleep | Plain melatonin |
|---|---|---|
| Form | Liquid drops, a 2 mL serving held under the tongue for 30 seconds, then swallowed | Commonly sold as tablets, capsules or gummies; independent testing has specifically examined gummies as one of those forms |
| Active dose | Melatonin 0.9 mg, fixed, plus 9 more ingredients (2 disclosed at 0.5 mg each, 7 undisclosed in a 637 mg blend) | Whatever dose the buyer picks at purchase; the trials behind melatonin's evidence have tested doses from 0.1 mg to 12 mg |
| Evidence for sleep | Rests on melatonin, its only ingredient with a studied dose and a measurable effect | Same evidence as Yu Sleep's melatonin content, since it is the identical compound |
| Price per night | $1.30 (6-bottle bundle, getyusleep.com/vsl) to $2.30 (1 bottle, shipping extra) | Not priced in this comparison |
| Guarantee | 60-day money-back, pays about 85%, buyer returns the bottles, one refund per customer | Not sourced for a specific product |
The evidence-for-sleep row reads the same on both sides for a specific reason: Yu Sleep's only ingredient with a studied dose and a measurable effect on sleep is melatonin itself, so whatever melatonin's research shows applies equally to the 0.9 mg inside Yu Sleep and to a plain melatonin product at a comparable dose. The price and guarantee rows stay blank for plain melatonin because this dossier researched Yu Sleep specifically, its ingredients, its price ladder and its refund policy, not the wider retail market for generic melatonin supplements, so no comparison on this site invents a number for a product it did not research. See melatonin in Yu Sleep for the full dose-versus-study-dose analysis behind the active-dose row.
Differences That Matter
A dose you choose vs. a dose that's fixed
A plain melatonin product lets you pick the dose, anywhere across the 0.1 to 12 mg range trials have tested, and know exactly what else is in the bottle; Yu Sleep fixes melatonin at 0.9 mg, a dose that sits inside that range, and adds nine more ingredients at amounts the label does not state. Melatonin, vitamin B6 (0.5 mg) and vitamin B2 (0.5 mg) are the only 3 of Yu Sleep's 10 ingredients with a stated dose; the other 7 sit inside a 637 mg "Proprietary Blend" the label marks "not disclosed." Within the range trials have tested, 0.3 mg is the dose one study (Zhdanova 2001) found restored sleep efficiency to a youthful level, and 4 mg is the dose where benefit peaked in a later analysis (Cruz-Sanabria 2024). Yu Sleep's 0.9 mg sits above the 0.3 mg mark and below the 4 mg peak, inside the studied range either way. No typical or common commercial melatonin dose is stated here, because none is sourced in this dossier; only the studied range, attributed to the trials that tested it, applies.
One ingredient vs. a blend of ten
Plain melatonin is one ingredient; Yu Sleep's label lists ten, and the seven besides melatonin, B6 and B2 sit in a single 637 mg "Proprietary Blend" with no individual amounts stated. Those seven are red tart cherry juice concentrate, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm extract, 5-HTP (from Griffonia seed extract), L-theanine and GABA, and each one carries evidence for sleep this dossier rates weak, except apigenin, which has no human sleep trial of its own. If the label lists the blend by weight, as US rules require under 21 CFR 101.36(c)(2), the lowest studied daily doses of just four of those seven ingredients, lemon balm, L-theanine, 5-HTP and GABA, already add up to 600 mg of the blend's 637 mg total. That is arithmetic on the studied doses, not a measured amount inside Yu Sleep's bottle. See Yu Sleep ingredients for the full ingredient table and the evidence behind each one.
How each is meant to be taken
Yu Sleep is held under the tongue for 30 seconds before swallowing; a plain melatonin tablet, capsule or gummy is chewed or swallowed directly. The vendor's own directions call for 2 full droppers (2 mL) 30 minutes before bed, held under the tongue for 30 seconds, then swallowed. Oral transmucosal dosing, absorption through the tissue under the tongue, produces higher plasma levels than swallowing in general (Zetner 2016), which is the likely mechanism behind that instruction, though it has not been tested for Yu Sleep's own formula specifically. Swallowed melatonin has an oral bioavailability of about 15%, ranging from 9% to 33% across studies, with peak blood levels reached around 50 minutes after dosing. Whether Yu Sleep's "hold it" step changes that absorption figure for its own 0.9 mg dose is not established; no product-specific absorption data exists for Yu Sleep.
What neither product has proven
Independent testing of melatonin supplements generally, not Yu Sleep specifically, has found wide gaps between the labeled and actual dose, and neither this dossier nor any lab test has checked Yu Sleep's own bottle. Erland and Saxena's 2017 analysis of commercial melatonin supplements found actual content ranging from -83% to +478% of the labeled amount, and Cohen et al.'s 2023 JAMA study, which tested melatonin gummies specifically, found a narrower but still wide range of 74% to 347%. Yu Sleep's own 0.9 mg has not been independently lab-tested, and this dossier states that as unknown rather than assuming it is more or less accurate than the products those two studies covered. On the effect itself, the same 2022 review cited by NCCIH, covering 12 studies and 2,666 people, found melatonin, at the doses and forms it covered, did not reduce the time people spent awake during the night. The American Academy of Sleep Medicine's guideline goes further, suggesting clinicians not use melatonin for sleep-onset or sleep-maintenance insomnia, a weak-strength recommendation. Both findings apply to melatonin as a compound, whichever bottle it comes from, not to one brand over another. See our does Yu Sleep stop 3 AM wakeups page for the full claim-by-claim answer on night waking, and Yu Sleep side effects for interactions and who should avoid melatonin.
Who Should Pick Which
The choice comes down to whether a buyer wants one product that already includes a studied melatonin dose plus eight other ingredients at unknown amounts, or wants to choose the dose and see the whole label themselves. Yu Sleep costs $1.30 to $2.30 a night depending on the bundle bought, and carries a 60-day money-back guarantee that pays back about 85% of the price, with the buyer covering return postage. Of the 14 readable Yu Sleep buyer reports in this dossier, 64% describe no noticeable effect and 14% describe improved sleep, a small, complaint-heavy sample that should not be read as representative of every buyer. No trial of Yu Sleep, or of its exact 10-ingredient combination, has been found in this research, so its real-world effect beyond the melatonin dose itself remains unverified either way. A plain melatonin product isolates the one ingredient with the strongest evidence in Yu Sleep's own formula, at a dose the buyer sets, but this dossier has no sourced price or guarantee for a specific plain product to weigh against Yu Sleep's. The trade-offs stand as stated here; neither option is presented as the right one for every buyer.
Frequently asked questions
Does Yu Sleep actually contain melatonin?
Yes. Its label discloses 0.9 mg of melatonin per 2 mL serving, one of only three of its ten ingredients (with vitamin B6 and B2) that carry a stated amount. The vendor's own sales copy says the product "has nothing to do with melatonin supplements," which the label contradicts.
Is 0.9 mg the same dose as a regular melatonin supplement?
This dossier has no sourced figure for what a typical retail product contains. What is sourced is the range trials have tested, 0.1 to 12 mg, with 0.3 mg restoring sleep efficiency in one study and benefit peaking around 4 mg in another. Yu Sleep's 0.9 mg sits inside that range.
Is Yu Sleep's melatonin content lab-verified?
No, and neither is any single plain-melatonin product in this dossier. Independent testing of melatonin supplements generally has found actual content ranging from -83% to +478% of the label, and gummies specifically 74% to 347%. Yu Sleep's own bottle has not been tested by any lab.
Does plain melatonin stop 3 AM waking any better than Yu Sleep?
No study shows either one does: a 2022 review covering melatonin broadly found no improvement in time awake during the night, and no trial has tested Yu Sleep's own combination. See our does Yu Sleep stop 3 AM wakeups page for the full claim-by-claim answer.
Is Yu Sleep cheaper than buying melatonin separately?
Yu Sleep costs $1.30 to $2.30 a night depending on the bundle bought. This dossier has not sourced a retail price for a generic melatonin product, so that comparison cannot be made with real numbers here.
Sources
- Vendor Supplement Facts image
- Vendor home page
- Vendor VSL/order page
- Vendor refund policy
- Ferracioli-Oda et al. 2013, meta-analysis of melatonin for sleep
- NCCIH, Melatonin: What You Need to Know
- Erland & Saxena 2017, melatonin content of commercial supplements
- Cohen et al. 2023, JAMA, melatonin gummy content